Giving Thanks on Memorial Day

Sergeant Warren O.Ostin Paying Tribute To our Veterans and Fallen Heroes

CAMP LEJEUNE — Twenty-two hundred Marines and sailors from Camp Lejeune are preparing to deploy off the coast of Libya in northern Africa. They said goodbye to their families Monday afternoon, and they’ll be leaving in the days ahead.

“There’s always in the back of your mind what if, what could happen,” Marine wife Carrie Cochran said.  Continue Reading…

March 2011 this image flashed across the TV of our Nephew Warren O. Ostin preparing to be deployed.  Our hearts sank with sorrow and swelled with pride all at the same time.

Warren O Ostin Deploying

Our nephew called me himself to tell me that he was going to be deployed overseas earlier than expected.  I held back my overwhelming tears as he filled me in on what he could, all the while reassuring me that all would be all right and that he was ready.

I got off the phone, cried my eyes out and begged God to protect him and bring him back to us.  My nephew is also my God Child and with that I wanted to make sure he felt connected always.

My Dad, an army veteran himself had given me a necklace several years before he passed away.  The necklace was a pair of praying hands with the Serenity Prayer inscribed on the back.

I decided to give this necklace to my nephew to have with him while he served his deployments. I made him promise he would bring it back to me when he was all done serving our country.  Along with the necklace I made a specific time of the day that I would be praying for him EST.  I wanted him to feel connected no matter where in the world he was always.

Warren O Ostin Afghanistan

Our nephew finished serving our country full time and is now a Sergeant in the US Marine Reserves.

I never asked him about the necklace or if he had it with him while deployed.

One day after he was home for good I received a phone call from Warren.  He asked me if I had seen his latest Facebook image.

He explained that he had carried the Praying Hands necklace with him the entire time he was in the Marines.  He went on to say that he wanted to have the Praying Hands with him always so he had them tattooed to his chest forever.

Praying Hands

I was speechless and engulfed with emotion.  Having two sons has taught me that men use actions and few words to express their emotions.  My nephew Warren is forever wearing his expression of gratitude to God and his country for returning home to us!

This Memorial Day I sat behind my nephew thanking God for the opportunity to share a day with him in person.  Enjoying watching him watch the game, never forgetting that I was not sure I would ever have this opportunity to see him smile or hear him laugh.

Sargeant Warren O. Ostin at Citizens Bank Field Philadelphia watching Game

I sat back in my seat praying for all who have lost a loved one in service to our country.  Counting our blessings for our nephew and all that have and continue to put themselves at risk for the United States.

My Memorial Day Thanksgiving Toast Cheers

This year I raised my glass in a Memorial Day, Thanksgiving toast to my nephew and his safe return home.

Thank You Sergeant Warren O. Ostin for your Service to this country!

Sergeant Warren O. Ostin

Designated Images were shot with a Samsung GalaxyS5  Smartphone #VZWBuzz

Verizon Wireless Lifestyle Blogger Program

Leave a Reply

