God bears the world’s weight on His shoulder

God bears the world’s weight on His shoulder, yet holds His children in the palm of His hand. image by Katie Shea Design  iPhone6 #VZWBuzz

“God bears the world’s weight on His shoulder, yet holds His children in the palm of His hand.”

A few weeks ago I was once again reminded that God is in control and holds me in the palm of his hand during every breath of my life.

It was January 1st, 2015 and my husband could not find his cross that I had given him for a special anniversary.  I asked my husband of 31 years where he had already looked for it so I could search out other places.  We were busy preparing for our New Year’s Day celebration and this was distracting my husband since the cross meant so much to him.  The idea of losing something so meaningful to him on New Year’s day was quite distressing.

I went upstairs to search other places and also to pray that God would impress on me where to begin my scavenger hunt.  Almost at once I was led to the side of our bed where my husband had dropped his NY Jets socks ( where he already had looked).  I was on my hands and knees examining all around and nothing.  I pushed the socks out of the way and heard a scraping sound.  I immediately picked up the socks and there was my husband’s necklace stuck to the bottom of the socks hooked on by a rung of the chain.

I had been praying that morning very specifically for something regarding my daughter. When I found the necklace I immediately knew God was communicating to me once again through a piece of jewelry.

Ten years ago, New Year’s Eve 2004 we were not sure if our daughter was going to see 2005 as she lay so ill in her hospital bed.

“All of a sudden I felt a rush of Peace and understanding.  I cried and cried.  My husband held onto me and just thought this was me cracking finally. I was in fact crying in joy. God had whispered to me that if I had lost my earring for days and I had in fact been to so many places in and around our house and the large hospital and my earring could be saved from a loss why would he not save my daughter who was far more precious than a golden earring. Then a Bible verse that I had recited so many times took on a whole new meaning. 

Faith is being sure of what you hope for and certain of what you do not see. Hebrews 11:1

Was I sure that she was going to live an earthly life through all of this, the answer was no.

What I became sure of was that God had her in the palm of his hand and He was in charge not me.  As the days and weeks rolled on it became apparent that the plan was that she was going to live through this ordeal.” Read More: The Claddagh Earrings

Finding my husband’s necklace on New Year’s Day after crying out to God that very morning regarding our daughter and again asking for his help to find the necklace was a huge sign to me that God is holding me and my family in the palm of his hand as he always has.  Something that seems so trivial in the grand scheme of things is of great significance to me.

God speaks in the most simple ways in everyday situations if you have ears to hear and eyes to see.

2 thoughts on “God bears the world’s weight on His shoulder

  1. Kathleen, this is just what I needed to hear today. Deepest thanks for sharing this beautiful piece. Love to you and yours, Julie

Leave a Reply

