Meerkat Update Resets Score to Zero

Meerkat Kathleen DeCosmo At KatieSheaDesign VZWBuzz

I am really enjoying meerkat.  It has opened up so many new worlds to me.

I have learned so much, am seeing so many parts of the world I would not otherwise have been able to see and have met the nicest, most interesting people.

What are my favorite features of Meerkat?

The comments and the interaction among the broadcast host and the commenters.

The fact that the broadcast announcement is tweeted and the comments are tweeted on your twitter account as well.

  • This gives all that participate in a broadcast the ability to go back after the broadcast and answer more questions as broadcasters
  • As a broadcaster the ability to go back after the broadcast and answer more questions as broadcasters
  • As a participant or viewer go back onto twitter to read the comments that you might have otherwise missed
  • Follow some of the meerkatters that were in the broadcast

So today when I woke up this morning, jumped on Meerkat while sipping my tea and found out that my measly little score had just been reduced to zero…

Meerkat  KathleenDeCosmo Katie Shea Design Meerkat Scorre reset after update

I asked myself… Hmm Was I in the penalty box for a meerkat offense I am not aware of??

After doing a google search I found that a fellow meerkatter Matt Navarra also updated his meerkat app only to be reset to zero as well.

For my viewers who are not familiar with Meerkat:

What is Meerkat??

Meerkat is a new startup that has found a simple and captivating way to capitalize on our societies obsession with Live-Blogs, tweets and Instagramming of every major event. Meerkat, a desktop and (iOS app only right now) rose to popularity these last few weeks especially during the #SXSW15 event is Austin Texas. This new app allows you to easily live-stream video from your phone to Twitter, so your followers can watch and comment in real time..  read more here

I have only hosted two meerkat broadcasts so I really did not have a large score by any means (118) but it still is time invested in the app.

Meerkat Stream of The VZWBuzz weekly Recap from the VErizon Boston Destination Store by Katie Shea Design

Okay so I did not feel alone and possibly in Meerkat jail for a possible offense like on Twitter when you exceed your tweet limit.

So then I began to think WOW The Meerkat Leaderboard must have tanked and all those people that have worked so hard on Meerkat and have become Meerkat “mavens” must be upset this morning!

Meerkat Leaderboard scores

No, come to find out the “leaderboard” was still intact.

We found out  that ” it’s a bug”!!!!

It's a bug

Now my score is published at 118.  I thought it was previously 126 ..) but hey I earned it and am back on the scoreboard!!

Score Reset for Kathleen Decosmo of KatieSheaDesign

 So Let’s see WHAT that this new Meerkat App Update brings to the table.

What’s New in Version 1.1

“Version 1.1 is the first version to be released since we committed our whole team to the project. It is much more stable, and user friendly. We fixed tons of bugs, related to audio video sync, rotation issues, and fixed many crashes. We have also added some features you’ve been asking for:

– Recommended people to follow [In Search]
– Opt out of comments posting to Twitter as @replies
– Follow new users from inside the stream.
– In app notifications when multiple people you follow begin streaming.
– Ability retweet scheduled streams from the app.
– Now you can discover new streams based on what your friends like, retweet and subscribe to.
– Share your profile to Twitter from the feed. Let others easily follow you.
– Improved Search”

Meerkat 1.1 update features

What do you like about the Meerkat App and how are you using it for your business??

Disclosure **I am a member of  #VZWBuzz Lifestyle Blogger Team.  I am supplied with different devices to use and test..  All opinions are my own. **

Leave a Reply

