Choosing a Mother-Son Dance Song

motoz-speaker-mod-by-kathleen-decosmo-katiesheadesign-vzwbuzz-ad

Choosing a Mother-Son Dance Song has been a long process for me.

I did not realize that the process of choosing a special song to dance to with my son on his wedding day was going to conjure up so many memories of our mother/son lifelong journey.

He is our oldest son and the second one of our children to be wed.  The process of a son planning a wedding vs a daughter is a completely different experience.

I never knew how much time I would be putting into choosing a special song until I started listening with a very intentional ear to many Mother-Son Dance Song lists.

The whole process became very emotional for me as I sat listening to each song trying to pair the song’s lyrics somehow with my son, and our mother/son relationship all through the years.

Our relationship began during the nine months carrying him in my womb.  We connected in a very special way in addition to actually being attached umbilically during my pregnancy LOL!

My first look at my son was me seeing a scowl on his face.  I would soon learn that scowl was when his comfort was disturbed otherwise he always wore a smile.

He smiled so much that his football coach had to tell him not to smile while he was tackling someone on the football field!  Both Memories are so carved out in my long term memory.

Certain words in many of the songs provoked some deeply buried, cherished memories to resurface while clutching a box of tissues. I am wondering how many mothers of the groom have experienced this flood of emotion as I have.

I had many song sessions that brought me down memory lane and each time I narrowed my selections more and more.

I had a song chosen months ago but somehow I did not feel it was perfect for my son and myself  to dance to.  Back to square one using a fresh ear revisiting some of the sites I used already.  I thought I was past the emotional responses the music invoked in me. Nope, not only did I cry like a baby, but so did my husband when I had him listen to my new and final selection for my Mother-Son Dance Song.

My husband and I have prayed all of his life for him to find someone to share his life with.  I know that he is counting the days to marry his best friend!!

What song did I choose for our Mother-Son Dance?

November 5th, 2016 is the wedding so stay tuned!

These are some of the sites I used to review potential song selections for our Mother-Son Dance:

Mother – Son Dance Songs

Mother-Son Wedding Song Ideas

Wedding Music Ideas For the Mother-Son Dance

Top 100 Mother/Groom Dance Songs

I used my Verizon MotoZ smartphone with the JBL SoundBoost Speaker Mod to hear each song very clearly whenever and wherever I had some downtime.  What is great about my MotoZ smartphone and the JBL SoundBoost Speaker Mod is I am able to access instantly a powerful stereo sound and it’s features of a kickstand, a built-in battery for 10 hours of playtime and speakerphone capabilities.

Disclosure: I’m so excited I received a MotoZ Smartphone and three Moto Mods as part of my relationship with Verizon. Thanks Verizon for letting me play with this amazing smartphone technology!! #Droid #MotoZ from @Verizon #VZWBuzz #ad .

Leave a Reply

